Servo3000: Live on the Web

Metallica – One

with one comment

After One was announced for Guitar Hero 3, I checked out the video and recalled the impact it had on me at the time. The video for One hit MTV in January of 1989, when non-threatening, vanilla pop dominated the airwaves. The number one hits of 1989 features Paula Abdul, Phil Collins, Richard Marx, Bette Midler, and Milli Vanilli. Imagine these harmless sounds coupled with post-Reagan and pre-Gulf War I political mindset and you should get a sense of the general atmosphere for this period. Bear in mind that I was 13 years old at the time, so the atmosphere for a period was pretty much whatever television dictated to me.

Suddenly, from out of nowhere to me, this video hit by a band called Metallica. It was in black and white, you could barely see the band members, and it carried an anti-war message to boot. I had never seen anything like it, and it started me on a path to being a lifelong Metallica fan. Culturally, it never had the impact of Smells Like Teen Spirit, but for me it was the beginning of showing me that there was something different out there than what I had been hearing. Events like this are necessary throughout your life. If you haven’t seen or heard something amazing and game-changing in the past few years, then you are likely stuck in a rut with what is familiar to you. The video for One marks the point in my life when I finally learned that.

Written by Scott

August 7, 2007 at 11:37 am

Posted in Youtube

Tagged with ,

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Super song thanks

    anotolia

    August 7, 2007 at 12:56 pm


Leave a Reply

